Log in


empower women. change the world.

2019 Recipient: Natasha Stott Despoja AO

24 Nov 2019 11:06 PM | Anonymous

Natasha Stott Despoja AO Natasha Stott Despoja AO is the founding chairperson of Our Watch (the Australian national organisation to Prevent Violence Against Women and their Children). She was Australia’s Ambassador for Women and Girls 2013-2016, responsible for the Government’s gender equality work internationally. As Ambassador, she travelled extensively throughout the Indo-Pacific region to promote women’s leadership, economic empowerment and an end to violence against women and girls.

She is a former Senator for South Australia (1995-2008) and former Leader of the Australian Democrats. She is the youngest woman ever to enter the Australian Federal Parliament.

Natasha is the author of ‘On Violence’ (MUP, 2018) and in 2020 was elected to the prestigious UN CEDAW Committee. The Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) is an international treaty adopted in 1979 by the United Nations General Assembly. Described as an international bill of rights for women, it was instituted on 3 September 1981 and has been ratified by 189 states.

contact us

The International Alliance for Women (TIAW)
13905 S Tekoa Street, Spokane WA USA 99203-2740

Google Maps


Copyright © 2019 TIAW the International Alliance for Women®. All Rights Reserved.

quick links


TIAW (The International Alliance for Women) is a charitable foundation. TIAW is unrelated to and not the same organization as IAW (International Alliance of Women Equal Rights - Equal Opportunities).

TIAW is organized as a 501(c)3 foundation in the USA.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software
Site Designed by UberNerd